POSSESSED- Once inside the vortex of terror; stuck forever?

I have been neglecting my true self for quite some time now. I want to regain my self for myself. You get what I mean?

Hello, my dear folks, I hope you are preparing for my grand announcement. Anybody? somebody? Haha! Anyway, good morning, afternoon or evening; wherever you are. Hope you have a great and fantabulous day.

My undying love for writing, words and escapism, got me in the grove of literature. About ten years back, I was trying to find ways in which I could excel and take myself deeper and stronger to my roots as a writer and find a path that I could stick to.

However, life had plans and I was hit by an avalanche that pushed me to a side and was asked to cave in. Depression is no joke and when you watch turbulent forces gather a strong combat team to pin you down; you have no other option but to curl in and wait till the storm passes. And, once it did, I woke up entirely as a different person, completely unhinged but sane as well. I was stuck, that is true but I was more aware as well. I could see better and realize the patterns and momentum.

One such Thursday evening of heightened reality, Aisha bloomed in me with an urgency, that I can still remember how jittery I felt. I had chicken fried rice for dinner and it got a place in the prologue of Aisha’s wavering dry story. I jumped from whatever I was doing, switched on my laptop and started writing a long raw rough draft of this girl’s story. Honestly, I felt relieved and I read it many times. It needed work, I know. But, I was glad I got it out.

Slowly, I was in a trance, writing this story, about a girl who had paranormal hindrances which led to psychological issues, plunging her into the icy cold dilemma of wanting to believe that a medical professional could help her in opposition to what her mother believed. I researched for many months, and read live accounts and real-life incidents of many people. I researched psychological terms and tried to understand how a mind like Aisha’s works. How lonely, pathetic or irritative it can get. And, in that journey,, I learned many things.

I was always curious to know why certain things happened and it never had any explanations. Why did I see something which was not ordinary and why none of my family members had an answer? Why? Why? Why? Many questions and no answers. And, I was always a kid who loved to explore new territory and find the root cause and deep understanding of a matter. Thus, with Aisha, I was learning and realizing that such a world of unexplained existence exists and we have no clue about it.

I. Was. Hooked.

That’s how possessed came into existence. I was hoping to keep this simply the tale of Aisha, a girl who found evil, fought it and freed from it. But, as I researched, it got deeper, darker and sinister. The stories that I heard weren’t any simpler. Altogether, Possessed was born. I kept it hidden, with the fear that it might not get the recognition it deserves. It will make me seem a bad writer, person and stupid. I was not good enough to be a writer, etc. My overthinking brain was in overdrive. And, oh my god, I was in pain.

But, then I realized, I didn’t write this for anyone. I wrote this for myself. I researched it for myself. I fell in love with this genre for myself. This was for myself. I was in for myself. And, thus, with the help of my dearest friend, family and mother, I finally took the decision that, yes, it is high time that I kept it between the shelves, buried under the dust and debris of my constant negativity. I will try this.

With loads of self-doubt, misery and pride, I present you my first book: POSSESSED. A Paranormal Psychological Thriller, diving deep into the mysteries of life.

Available on Amazon: Book Link

2 Replies to “POSSESSED- Once inside the vortex of terror; stuck forever?”

Leave a comment